As the price of cable and satellite keeps going up, it’s not surprising that more and more people are turning to the web to get their entertainment. Much of the TV, movies, games and radio we enjoy can be found both online and on demand (no more need to set the TiVo) – there’s really no chance that the future of the entertainment business ISN’T online. But the biggest problem seems to be finding all the free content that’s out there. There are some sites that are obvious sources of TV shows, but others are more obscure, and no one wants to wade through a lot of sites to find what they want to watch.

The latest entry in the online entertainment field takes care of that particular annoyance: the TV Toolbar. The toolbar downloads fast, installs in your browser, and lets you find all the free entertainment you can without having to do your own searching. Games, streaming TV, archived TV, movies, radio…. you name it. It’s free and easy, and it’s a great way to get organized and keep all your web media options in one place.

I tried it myself, installing it in my Firefox browser. I’m not particularly tech-savvy, but it was an easy download and install for me. I went to the TV Shows tab and perused the list of TV shows available, finally settling on a fave of mine, Stargate: SG1 (hmmm… I might have just outed myself as a nerd). I clicked it, and a new window opened with archived Stargate shows ready for me to watch. I was impressed in spite of myself…. I had expected it to be tougher than that, frankly.

Toolbars are revolutionizing how people browse the web, and the TV Toolbar is making free online entertainment more accessible than ever. Give it a try, and let me know how it works for you. I’m curious to see how the future of TV unfolds via this new technology. I suspect that cable and satellite companies will have to adapt or die, and that could be good news for the consumer!

